Apple Tarte Tatin

October 3, 2010 at 8:11 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Sometimes the planets align, events syncronise and things just work.

I’ve been feeling rather slack lately and wanting to bake something elaborate.  Not that the recurring batches of cookies and attempts at homemade bread weren’t enjoyable (and tasty, in the case of the cookies), but I just wanted to up my game.

So there was the idea to go big.  And involve fruit, in an attempt to be healthy.

And then Joy the Baker blogged about Apple Tarte Tatin on Friday.

Now, a word of warning up first – Apple Tarte Tatin is one of those things where once you’ve tried it (especially if it’s really good), you will remember it.  I last had it over a year ago from a lovely bakery near my house – which then proceded to be very mean and shut down.  A new French-style bakery opened nearby and I hoped they would have it, but alas, no dice.

So I had to try to make it myself. And that’s where Joy’s blog fit in, and it was perfect.

It involves apples, butter, sugar and puff pastry.  And that’s it.

No, seriously, that’s it.  Which is great, but it makes me a bit paranoid that I’ve missed something.

I always seem to have a problem with converting weights and volumes from imperial to metric – so when I read 1 stick of butter, I was too thankful that I didn’t have to do any math, that I didn’t think to look at the size of the stick.  So, of course, I ended up with double the amount of butter.  It was still absolutely delicious, but it was way way too buttery.

Which made it a bit tricky to eat for breakfast the next day.  Am I the only who makes too much dessert or pudding so I can pick at it the next day?

Recipe

110g butter

1 cup sugar (I used caster)

7 apples (whatever your favourite is, I used a mix of Granny Smith and Fuji)

1 sheet of pasty (or 2 if you’re using a larger skillet like me)

Peel and quarter the apples, removing the core, seeds and all that bad stuff.

Melt the butter in a skillet.  A smaller 10-inch skillet is better, but just make sure you have enough pastry to cover it.

When the butter is melted, remove from the heat and whisk in the sugar. When it’s lovely and spread out, pop back onto the heat at medium-high.

Layer the apple quarters in, making sure to cover all the surface area.  If they don’t all fit, don’t worry. The apples will reduce slightly and you can pop the rest in later.

Let it simmer for 10-15 minutes.  I turned my oven on at this point to let it preheat to 190 degrees C.  Pop a baking tray in there at the same time.

If you have any left over apples, put them in while the sugar and butter is caramelising.  There’s not really any need to stir, but keep an eye on the colour and smell that lovely apple-y smell.

After about 15 minutes, remove from the stove.  Cover the skillet with pastry, tucking any edges in.

Put the skillet on the baking tray and bake for 20-30 minutes.  The pastry will go all lovely and puffy and golden to let you know when it’s done.

Remove from the oven and let it cool for about 30 minutes.

Run a knife along the edge, just to make sure the pastry isn’t stuck, and pop a plate big enough to cover the skillet over the top.

Flip it over onto the plate.

Best served warm with cream or icecream or on its own.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

